Award Page
Nominations are being accepted through November 14 at 11:59 PM PT.
Submit Nomination
The ASPPH Teaching Excellence Award recognizes faculty who are outstanding in teaching and mentoring students toward distinction in public health research, teaching, and practice. The award is given annually to a full-time faculty member from an ASPPH-member, CEPH-accredited school or program of public health.

2022 Award Recipient

Catherine Sherwood-Laughlin, HSD, MPH

Indiana University School of Public Health - Bloomington

Read More


Criteria for Award

Nominations should include a description of the nominee's outstanding contribution in:

  • Demonstration of innovative leadership for enhancing excellence, health equity, and inclusiveness in academic public health teaching. 
  • Mentoring of students at the baccalaureate, master’s, and/or doctoral levels; 
  • Teaching outside of traditional degree programs at one’s university, including continuing education programs, short courses, and programs for the general public; 
  • Innovative teaching-related contributions to one’s field, such as textbooks and other teaching materials; 
  • Scholarship on teaching methodology; 
  • High-level, national leadership to improve teaching and mentoring within CEPH-accredited schools or programs of public health; 
  • Demonstration of a national and/or international reputation as an educator; and 
  • Innovative or creative efforts in education. 


Nominations must be full-time faculty from an ASPPH-member, CEPH-accredited school or program of public health. View the list of ASPPH-member institutions.

A primary teaching appointment in an ASPPH-member school or program of public health

Demonstrate a notable record of success (more than 10 years in graduate and/or undergraduate public health education) in educating baccalaureate, post-baccalaureate, master’s, doctoral, and/or post-doctoral students.

Required Materials

All nominations must contain the following materials: 

  • Nominee and nominator contact information; 
  • Overview statement of nominee’s contributions (limit 800 words); 
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae; and 
  • Two additional letters of support. 

Award Details

$1,000 Cash Prize

Complimentary registration for ASPPH Annual Meeting

Recognition at the Awards Ceremony

Objective Review & Selection

Each nomination is assigned to an objective review and selection committee for that award. The committee is comprised of previous awardees, ASPPH Section leaders, and those nominated by their Dean to participate. Nominations are scored on the following criteria: 

  • Overall Rating (5=best, 1=worst) 
  • The work (research/practice/teaching) conducted by this candidate has promising implications for improving public health (5=strongly agree, 1=strongly disagree) 
  • Strength of the letters of support (5=very strong, 1=very weak) 
  • Strength of candidate’s experience (CV) (5=very strong, 1=very weak) 

 All scores and comments are compiled, the candidates ranked, and a summary report is sent to the committee for review.  

A Zoom meeting is scheduled with the ASPPH Program manager and committee to discuss each nomination and determine the awardee.  

Past Winners


Michael Kramer, PhD

Emory University Rollins School of Public Health


Karin B. Yeatts, PhD

University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health


Jaime A Corvin, PhD, MSPH, CPH

University of South Florida College of Public Health


Matthew Fox, DSc, MPH

Boston University School of Public Health


Deborah A. McFarland, PhD, MPH

Emory University Rollins School of Public Health