Award Page
Nominations are being accepted through November 14 at 11:59 PM PT.
Submit Nomination

2022 Award Recipient

Maria Fernandez, PhD

University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) School of Public Health

Read More

Required Materials

All nominations must contain the following materials:

  • Nominee and nominator contact information; 
  • Overview statement of nominee’s contributions (limit 800 words); 
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae; and 
  • Two additional letters of support. 

Objective Review & Selection

Each nomination is assigned to an objective review and selection committee for that award. The committee is comprised of previous awardees, ASPPH Section leaders, and those nominated by their Dean to participate. Nominations are scored on the following criteria: 

  • Overall Rating (5=best, 1=worst) 
  • The work (research/practice/teaching) conducted by this candidate has promising implications for improving public health (5=strongly agree, 1=strongly disagree) 
  • Strength of the letters of support (5=very strong, 1=very weak) 
  • Strength of candidate’s experience (CV) (5=very strong, 1=very weak) 

 All scores and comments are compiled, the candidates ranked, and a summary report is sent to the committee for review.  

 A Zoom meeting is scheduled with the ASPPH Program manager and committee to discuss each nomination and determine the awardee. 

Past Winners


Grace John-Stewart, MD, PhD, MPH

University of Washington School of Public Health