Award Page
Nominations are being accepted through November 14 at 11:59 PM PT.
Submit Nomination

Congratulations to the 2024 ASPPH Award Winners

2022 Award Recipient

Jeni Hebert-Beirne, PhD, MPH

University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health

Read More

The ASPPH Practice Excellence Award recognizes faculty who have devoted their careers to advancing and integrating scholarly public health practice across research, teaching, and service. The award is given annually to a full-time faculty member from an ASPPH- member, CEPH-accredited school or program of public health.

Criteria for Award

Nominations should include a description of the nominee’s outstanding contributions in:

  • Demonstration of innovative leadership for enhancing excellence, health equity, and inclusiveness in academic public health practice.
  • Advancing the practice mission of schools or programs of public health and improves the health of the communities they serve.
  • Translation of knowledge into practice by creating a bridge between academia and the public health workforce.
  • Engagement with community organizations and academia in meaningful, evidence-based, and sustained programs.


  • Nominees must be full-time faculty from an ASPPH-member, CEPH-accredited school or program of public health. View the list of ASPPH-member institutions.
  • Hold a primary appointment in an ASPPH-member school or program of public health.
  • Demonstrate a notable record of success (more than 10 years in public health practice).

Required Materials

All nominations must contain the following materials: 

  • Nominee and nominator contact information; 
  • Overview statement of nominee’s contributions (limit 800 words); 
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae; and 
  • Two additional letters of support. 

Objective Review & Selection

Each nomination is assigned to an objective review and selection committee for that award. The committee is comprised of previous awardees, ASPPH Section leaders, and those nominated by their Dean to participate. Nominations are scored on the following criteria: 

  • Overall Rating (5=best, 1=worst) 
  • The work (research/practice/teaching) conducted by this candidate has promising implications for improving public health (5=strongly agree, 1=strongly disagree) 
  • Strength of the letters of support (5=very strong, 1=very weak) 
  • Strength of candidate’s experience (CV) (5=very strong, 1=very weak) 

All scores and comments are compiled, the candidates ranked, and a summary report is sent to the committee for review.  

 A Zoom meeting is scheduled with the ASPPH Program manager and committee to discuss each nomination and determine the awardee.  

Past Winners


Melissa (Moose) Alperin, EdD, MPH, MCHES

Emory University Rollins School of Public Health


Karen D. Liller, PhD, EdS, MA, CPH

University of South Florida College of Public Health


Brandon Grimm, PhD MPH

University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Public Health


Catherine L. Troisi, PhD

University of Texas School of Public Health


Deanna M. Hoelscher, PhD, RD, LD, CNS

University of Texas School of Public Health


Tim Byers, MD, MPH

Colorado School of Public Health: University of Colorado | Colorado State University | University of Northern Colorado


Belinda Reininger, DrPH, MPH

University of Texas School of Public Health


Margaret A. Potter, JD

University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health


Dr. Matthew Boulton, MD, MPH

University of Michigan School of Public Health


Eugenia Eng, DrPH

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Gillings School of Global Public Health


Rebecca Parkin, PhD, MPH

George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services


Kathleen Miner, PhD, MPH

Emory University Rollins School of Public Health


Bernard J. Turnock, MD, MPH

University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health


Thomas A. Burke, PhD, MPH

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health